Deutscher Tourismusverband (DTV) e.V.

German Tourism Association

Committee of Experts on Sustainable Tourism, Permanent guest (Bernd Räth, since 2012)
Department "Nature protection, environment and tourism" (till 2012), Permanent guest (Bernd Räth, 2001 - 2012)

CEEweb for Biodiversity

Member (since 2002)
Member of Board (Michael Meyer)
Member and advisor of the Sustainable Tourism Working Group (Michael Meyer, since 2003)

Umweltdachmarke Viabono

Viabono - German umbrella brand for ecological sound tourism

Member of the leading committee on the establishment of a German Environmental Tourism Label and partizipation in expert committees on development of criteria (2000-2002)
Founding member of the Viabono Association (Viabono Trägerverein e. V.) (2002)
Member of Board of the Viabono Association (Rolf Spittler, since 2002)

Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology of Germany

Member of the advisory council for tourism (Bernd Räth, since 2002)

Forum Anders Reisen e. V.

Association of environmentally friendly and socially responsible tour operators

Member of the advisory council (Rolf Spittler, Bernd Räth, 1998-2011)

Tourism Sustainabilty Group (TSG) (2003 - 2012)

Expert Committee of the European Commission (Directorate-General for Enterprise and Industry) on Sustainable Tourism

Member (Michael Meyer, 2003 - 2011)

Reisepavillon - International Fair for Alternative Travel (1990-2010)

Member of the advisory council (Bernd Räth, 1993 - 2010)

Stewardship Council (STSC)

GSTC Global Sustainable Tourism Council (since 2009). Initiative of the Rainforest Alliance (Washington) for the establishment of a global accreditation body for sustainable tourism and ecotourism certification programs

Advisory member (Michael Meyer, 2002-2009)

Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety of Germany (BMU)

Member of the working group "Rural Regional Development" in the frame of the dialogue "Bündnis für Arbeit" (Michael Meyer, 2000 - 2002)

PUP Global Heritage Consortium

Founding member

Mountain Partnership


European Wilderness Society